School Page Awards 2011


Teacher Michelle Luck and students Jake Wilson, Jobell Roscas and Josh Gray from Triabunna were among those praised in the NIE awards at the Mercury office in Hobart.


Students show flair in print


SCHOOL pages produced by Tasmanian students showed a strong future for local journalism, Mercury editor Garry Bailey said yesterday.
At a function for participating schools, Mr Bailey said 219 classes had taken the opportunity to produce their own pages in the Mercury since the School Page program began in 1995.
Nine pages were published this year. Mr Bailey named those by Princes Street Primary, Triabunna High and Elizabeth College as the best of 2011.
Merit awards were presented to Cosgrove High School, St Mary's College, Hilliard Christian School, Emmanuel Christian School, Fahan School and New Town High. Commemorative 10th anniversary awards went to New Town High and Hilliard Christian School.

School Pages are a major part of the Mercury's Newspapers in Education (NIE) program.
Mr Bailey predicted a future where the Mercury helped schools with multi-media productions including video, apps and online presentations. "This program has been immensely strong over a long period because of the contribution of teachers and talented students,'' he said.
Teachers interested in next year's School Page program can contact NIE on 6230 0736 or email
More information is available at

* Article from the Mercury newspaper, December 7, 2011.

A word about our sponsors: Our School Page program would not exist without the generous support of Tasmanian businesses. Click here for the list of businesses which contributed to the nine School Pages of 2011.



Triabunna teacher Michelle Luck and students Jobell Roscas, Josh Gray and Jake Wilson receive the Best High School Page award from editor Garry Bailey
Student Will Collins receives Elizabeth College's award for the best Best College Page from editor Garry Bailey
Princes Street teacher Louise Bird and students Matt White, Tom Kessling and Michael Mountain receive the Best Primary School Page award from editor Garry Bailey

New Town High School students Fergus Scott, Ryam Howell and Toby Whitton and teacher Susan Berry receive their merit award from Garry Bailey
St Mary's College teacher Lucy Harrison and Nikola Kramer, Danielle Smart and Bianca Zagni receive their merit award from Garry Bailey
Emmanuel Christian School teacher Wendy Bowen and students Isabelle Hesketh, Emily Grubb and Rachel Saunders receive a merit award from Garry Bailey
Fahan School representative Meg Denman and students Bridie Denman, Amy Pailthorpe and Isabella Pearce receive their school's merit award from Garry Bailey
Hilliard Christian School teacher Dean Prentice and student Jack Manser receive their merit award from editor Garry Bailey
Cosgrove High School teacher-aide Tracey Applebee and students Merindah Gill and Jassy Czislowski with their merit award

Photographs in this gallery can be ordered from the Mercury photo sales department by visiting the newspaper's offices in Hobart and Launceston, or by calling 6230 0745.