School Page Awards 2006

Education Minister David Bartlett at the Mercury School Page awards on December 12, 2006

Minister praises school newspaper efforts

PUBLISHING their own page in the Mercury was an amazing opportunity, Education Minister David Bartlett told school representatives on December 12, 2006.
Presenting the annual awards for schools which had produced a school page in the Mercury this year, Mr Bartlett said the program offered an opportunity for students to experience all aspects of producing a newspaper.
"The Mercury School Page program remains unique among Australia's major metropolitan newspapers in turning over responsibility for an entire page to students for publication in a regular issue of the newspaper," he said.
After a workshop conducted by representatives of the newspaper, students set to work writing news stories, taking photographs, doing artwork and selling the advertising space on their page.
"These pages are a fantastic opportunity for you to experience first-hand what goes into putting a newspaper together.
"They are also a wonderful way of showcasing the fantastic things happening in our schools to the Mercury's 130,000 readers."
Mr Bartlett congratulated Mercury editor Garry Bailey for entrusting newspaper pages to budding student journalists and photographers. He also thanked Rod Boucher, who ran this program from its inception in 1995 until his retirement earlier this year.
The Mercury's Newspapers in Education program was praised by the minister for its support of teachers.
"This includes a great range of regular poster-size features which provide students and teachers with great learning activities. This year some of the resources provided to teachers include the Story of Books, the Solar System, National Treasures and Punctuation," he said.
This year a near-record 14 school pages, normally published in Friday editions of the newspaper, were produced by primary, high and senior secondary schools in southern Tasmania.
Mr Bailey said he hoped the experience would encourage some of the students to consider a career in journalism.

Hobart College (best college page), Clarence High School (best high school page) and Levendale Primary School (best primary school page).

Woodbridge School, Northern Suburbs Christian School, Glenorchy Primary School, Corpus Christi School, Emmanuel Christian School, St Michael's Collegiate, Cambridge Primary School, Rose Bay High School, Kingston High School, Elizabeth College and Fahan School.


10th anniversary certificates were awarded to Fahan and St Michael's Collegiate for publishing School Pages in 1996 and 2006, while another certificate was issued to Collegiate for being the school to publish the Mercury's 125th school page.

Click here for the list of businesses which contributed to the 14 School Pages of 2006.

David Bartlett presents the "2006 Best College Page"

Award to Tristan Sell and Suzanne Pattinson from

Hobart College.

David Bartlett with "2006 Best High School Page" winners

James Kitto, Rebecca Banham, Katherine Burke and teacher Peta Kelly, of Clarence High School.

Levendale Primary School's Amanda Palfreyman,

Kristy McConnon and Megan Dare receive their

"2006 Best Primary School Page" award from

David Bartlett.

Woodbridge School Merit Award recipient Nel Smit

with David Bartlett.

David Bartlett presents Fahan School's Merit Award to

Anna Forward.

Emmanuel Christian School Merit Award recipient

Wendy Bowen with David Bartlett.

Corpus Christi School Merit Award recipient

Erica Halley with David Bartlett.

Kingston High School Merit Award recipients Travis Coote

and Zoe Axton with David Bartlett.

St Michael's Collegiate Merit Award recipient Hannah

Ibbott with David Bartlett.

Northern Suburbs Christian School Merit Award recipient

Christine Woolley with David Bartlett.

Rose Bay High School Merit Award

recipient Debra Tozer with David Bartlett.

Glenorchy Primary School Merit Award recipient

Kathryn Gardner with David Bartlett.

David Bartlett presents a commemorative award to

Amy Moorefield and Anna Forward of Fahan School

St Michael's Collegiate students Sarah Molnar, left, Georgina Whish-Wilson and Maddie Hillman receive their school's commemorative award from Education Minister David Bartlett

click to enlarge

Emmanuel Christian School students Kelsey Andrews (left),

Caleb Handasyde and Julian Cantwell with their award.

Glenorchy Primary School students Kerralee Orr, left, Jessie Quinn and Connor Langridge, and teacher Kathryn Gardner.

Corpus Christi School students Maggie Dilger, left, and Eve Lomas with their school's merit award.

Northern Suburbs Christian School students Travis

Mortyn, left, and Kirsty Miller.

Rose Bay High School students Kris Penney, left, and Lewis Van Bommell with their school's merit award.

Thanks to David Bartlett, MHA,

Minister for Education, for attending our School Page awards and presenting the certificates.

Thanks to our sponsors:

Our School Page program would not

exist without the generous support of

Tasmanian businesses.

Click here for the list of

businesses which contributed to the

14* School Pages of 2006.

*The Ogilvie High School page of December 15, 2006,

is deemed to be part of the 2007 program for

School Page Award judging purposes.

Cambridge Primary School students from left Lucie Richards, Michael Howlin, William Squires, Hayden Arnett, Grace Tame, Laura Harvey, Abbie Weidinger and Louisa Polglase