School Page Awards 2005

TASMANIAN educators should take a lead from the schools which had produced their own pages in the Mercury, according to the newspaper's editor, Garry Bailey.

He was speaking when presenting the annual Mercury School Page awards in Hobart on December 13, 2005.

Mr Bailey said the pages produced by the 11 participating schools last year showed how the state's new curriculum, Essential Learnings, was being practised.

While critical of some of the aspects of the new framework’s “language”, the editor  praised the way some schools had grasped the new curriculum and applied it in practical, real-world programs such as development of news pages in a daily newspaper.

He said the participants had a clear understanding of news value and how to go about developing a page that was both relevant to their school and the newspaper’s readers at large.


The winners of the Best School Page awards for 2005 are Elizabeth College (senior secondary), Calvin Secondary School (secondary/high school level) and Woodbridge School (primary). A special award was made to Fahan School for celebrating the 10th anniversary of its involvement with the program, having produced five school pages since its first edition in August, 1995, and more recently in May this year. Fahan also received a special merit award for this year’s page.


Merit awards were made to the other participating schools: Kingston Christian School, Emmanuel School, Claremont High School,  Campbell St Primary, Mt Nelson Primary,  Rose Bay High and Tarremah Steiner School, Kingston.

Since The Friends’ School produced the first in this series of School Pages in May 1995, the Mercury has published 118 School Pages.

There was positive feedback during the year from participating teachers on the value of the project to the new curriculum. The School Page program includes an initial workshop in the classroom.

This is run by Education Services Manager Rod Boucher assisted by the Advertising Features Department’s  Peter Carey as the advertising facilitator.

Each year prizes are awarded to the school which produces what is judged to be the best page produced in each of three categories.Criteria used in judging the awards includes:  Newsworthiness of stories; variety and quantity of stories; quality of images; preparation of advertisements and client contracts; ability to meet production deadlines.

The Mercury's Editor Garry Bailey, left, presents the

2005 Senior Secondary School award to Elizabeth

College sports journalism teacher Tim Medwin.

Mercury editor Garry Bailey with 2005 award

winners (from left): Shannon Kennedy, 11,

Woodbridge School, Miriam Short, 16, Fahan School,

and Emily Whitty, 16, Calvin Secondary School.

Emmanuel Christian School students (from left): Matthew Sakaris 14, Kate Vienefeld, 14, and Justin Sproule, 14.


Mt Nelson Primary School students (from left): Laura                          

Hevey, 12, Max Davie, 12 and Henry Schade, 12.                                    


Tarremah Steiner School students

Morwenna Coombe and Anna Fuhr-Evitt

Rose Bay High School students (from left):

Christopher Allie, 15, Prue Webster, 15, and Estella

Walker, 15.

Teachers inquiring about the School Page program can email the Newspapers in Education office by clicking here.

A word about our sponsors

The Mercury and participating schools and colleges acknowledge all advertisers who supported the School Pages program in 2005. To see the list, click here.